Is Archive And Delete The Same Thing?

Why do emails not delete on iPhone?

Answer: A: Try going into Settings > Accounts & Password > account > Account > Advanced > Deleted Mailbox, and under On The Server tap the ‘Trash’ folder so that it gets a tick against it – then come out of that series of popups by tapping on the relevant buttons at the top of them and see if you can now delete emails..

How long do archived messages stay in Gmail?

30 daysYou can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function. Messages addressed to a group of people can return to your inbox if someone on the address list replies to the original. The Delete action moves the selected message to the Trash area, where it stays for 30 days before it is permanently deleted.

How do you change from archive to delete on iPhone?

On iOS, head to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars and select one of the email accounts you have set up in Mail. Next, go to Account > Advanced and in the Move Discarded Messages Into area, select either Deleted Mailbox or Archive Mailbox.

Do archived Instagram posts get deleted?

Archive lets you hide photos and videos from your profile without completely deleting them. That way, you can bring them back later if you want to do so.

Does archived mail get deleted?

Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox. A deleted message goes into the trash folder, whereas an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or “All Mail” on Gmail / Google Apps. … Your Archive folder is never automatically emptied.

Will deleting emails free up storage?

It keeps anything you delete for 30 days before finally purging it. Until you purge that trash, the emails in it still count as storage used. … First, I will make a second reply because in general your emails are very tiny in size and most of the time even deleting 29,000 of them won’t free up all that much space.

How do I delete instead of archive?

See the archive icon when you view messages. Archive from interactive notifications (Android 4.1+)….To delete instead of archive, choose Show delete only.In the. Gmail app, touch the Menu icon, then Settings.Select General settings.Check Swipe to archive or Swipe to delete.

What happens to archived Gmail?

If you want to clean up your inbox without deleting your emails, you can archive or mute them. Your emails are moved to a label called “All Mail.” When you archive a message: The message will come back to your inbox when someone replies to it.

What is the difference between archive and delete on Iphone?

By default in iOS, Gmail is set to archive your emails as opposed to deleting them. Archiving email keeps the messages in an Archived folder, but Deleting moves them to the trash. … You are going to change where it says “Move Discarded Messages Into:” by tapping on the word Deleted Mailbox.

Do archived emails take up space?

Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. Even messages in the trash and spam are counted. The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

What does Archive mean Gmail?

Unlike Outlook, when you Archive a message in Gmail, the message is hidden from your Inbox view. So in effect, archiving lets you tidy up your inbox by moving messages from your inbox into your All Mail label, so you don’t have to delete anything.

What is the purpose of archiving emails?

Email archiving allows you to keep a record of everything sent and received, ensuring that you always have a copy of your messages and any documents attached. By archiving your important data and documents, they’re stored safely in a separate folder—meaning there’s less chance you’ll delete or lose them.

Does deleting emails free up space?

Emails can take up tons of space on your Android operating system. If you keep thousands — or even hundreds — of emails around, then it’s time that you clear a significant amount of space by deleting these emails in Gmail.

How do you delete archived messages?

Touch and hold each conversation that you want to archive or delete.Archive: To put the selected conversations into your archives, tap Archive. . … Mark all as read: Tap More. Mark all as read.Delete: To delete the selected conversations from Messages, tap Delete .

Do archived emails take up space in Outlook?

Archiving does not free up space, however Archiving in Office 365 (also called In-Place Archiving) provides users with additional mailbox storage space. After you turn on archive mailboxes, users can access and store messages in their archive mailboxes by using Microsoft Outlook and Outlook on the web.