Do You Need A Degree To Become A State Trooper?

What disqualifies you from being a state trooper?

Felony convictions.

Serious misdemeanors.

Current drug use or past drug abuse.

Dishonorable discharge from military service..

How dangerous is being a state trooper?

This can be a physically challenging career, and it’s often stressful and dangerous. Not every civilian is overjoyed when a trooper turns up at a scene. Expect to be yelled at, spit on, hit, and even worse. Potential health concerns and other inherent dangers are associated with the job as well.

How much money does a FBI agent make?

With locality pay and availability pay, field agents at their maximum pay level can earn $131,027 to $149,895 per year. Agents who choose to move into supervisory, management and executive positions can move up to a maximum of GS-15, step 10 position. The base pay at this level is $129,517 per year.

How much do SWAT team make?

Swat team salary members have an average yearly salary of around $56,130 according to the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. An entry-level position with experience may start with an annual pay of $90,700. After some time as a member of a swat team, a specially-trained officer may make around $105,000 per year.

How do you get in shape for police academy?

How to Get Physically Fit for the Police AcademyGo to your doctor and have a physical before beginning your fitness program, regardless of your age.Follow a healthy diet that includes a variety of foods and drink plenty of water. … Decide what type of fitness program you want to start. … Decide on the best time of day for you to exercise.More items…

Do you get to go home while in police academy?

At some police academies you will live on the academy grounds during the week for the duration of your training, while with others you can live at home and attend classes for eight hours a day or during the evening.

How long is average police academy?

about 840 hoursExcluding field training, the average length of a basic law enforcement training program in a training academy was about 840 hours, or 21 weeks (table 5).

Do you need a degree to be a state trooper?

Since a state trooper is part of a law enforcement team, they must be at least 21 years of age and hold a high school diploma or GED, at the minimum. However, most state law enforcement agencies recommend that candidates complete at least an associate’s degree.

How long is state trooper academy?

16 to 26 weeksMany training programs for state police may last from 16 to 26 weeks. Most state trooper training academies are modeled on military style boot camps. Recruits are usually housed at the academy and subjected to a rigorous physical training program that is integrated with exhaustive classroom instruction.

Where do cops make the most money?

States With The Highest Salaries For Police OfficerOregon. According to BLS data, a police officer in Oregon earns $65,890. … Connecticut. Police officers in Connecticut receive an average salary of $65,950. … New York. … Illinois. … Washington, D.C. … Washington. … Alaska. … New Jersey.More items…

Do state troopers get their own car?

In general, Sheriff and Constable deputies are the ones most likely to be able to take their vehicles home. Some State Troopers seem to be able to take their vehicles home. Most police officers, especially in large departments, don’t get to take their vehicles home, though I’ve seen instances of some being able to.

Can CHP have beards?

Hair shall be neat and well-groomed, and can not extend below the uniform shirt collar at any time. … Hair shall not be lower than the relaxed eyebrow of the individual, nor may it be visible on the forehead while a cap is worn. Neatly trimmed sideburns or mustaches are permitted.

How much does a state trooper make a year?

What Is the Average State Trooper Salary by StateStateHourly WageAnnual SalaryNevada – State Trooper Salary$27.40$56,983North Dakota – State Trooper Salary$27.29$56,768Wyoming – State Trooper Salary$27.27$56,718California – State Trooper Salary$27.22$56,62646 more rows

Do state troopers make more than cops?

A majority of local police departments employ fewer than 10 officers with most state trooper forces hovering below 2,000 [source: Bureau of Labor Statistics]. That increased horsepower also comes with a higher price tag. The median state trooper salary was $52,540 in 2006, about $5,000 more than local law enforcement.

Which state troopers get paid the most?

The states and districts that pay Patrol Officers the highest mean salary are California ($101,380), Alaska ($88,030), New Jersey ($83,720), Washington ($77,670), and Illinois ($75,720).

Do state troopers go to police academy?

State Trooper Requirements Each state has varying requirements for their state troopers however the majority of states require an aspiring State Trooper to attend and graduate from the state police academy.

How much does it cost to put yourself through the police academy?

Costs usually total less than $5,000, and some police departments will reimburse a percentage of that tuition upon employment. After receiving your certification, you can then apply to become a police officer in that state. However, you may be asked to complete an additional training course.

How do you become a state cop?

Steps for Becoming a State TrooperAttend a degree program and/or gain experience in a related field. … Apply for an open position with the state police.Be interviewed for the position.Complete a physical examination, drug test, polygraph exam, and background investigation.Complete a state trooper training academy.More items…•